International Association of Approved Basketball Officials, Inc.

User name & password are the same.

Official IAABO Uniform Supplier

Eastern Maine Board (111) of
Approved Basketball Official

"One Rule, One Interpretation"

Scott L. Dyke, obituary

Mon, 11/23/2020 - 4:30pm
BROOKS — Scott L. Dyke, of Brooks, passed peacefully on Sunday, November 22, 2020, at the age of 62, after a long and courageous battle with heart disease and kidney failure.

Scott was born in Farmington, to Roy ("Joe") and Ruth Dyke. He was predeceased by both parents, and by his faithful canine companion, Chloe.

Scott grew up in Wilton and attended Mt. Blue High School. A proud Mt. Blue Cougar, he played baseball and basketball, carrying on the family basketball legacy, passed on from his father. Scott, his sister, and their parents, spent summers on Wilson Lake, creating endless fond memories boating, swimming, and catching frogs. Many fun summers were spent at “Camp Bumpy Road”, a tradition Scott later passed on to his kids, where he taught them to build forts and make s’mores.

Scott graduated from UMO with a degree in teaching. He spent years as a high school math teacher, working in three public school districts across the great state of Maine. While teaching in Skowhegan, he also coached the JV and Varsity men’s basketball teams. After finishing coaching, Scott was a dedicated basketball official and a member of the IAABO for 30 years. He also enjoyed officiating soccer every autumn, for nearly 15 years. Scott loved sports, and the Celtics have gained a new fan (and critic) in Heaven. His greatest joy in sports, however, was found in coaching his own kids in t-ball, little league baseball, basketball, and softball. Scott enjoyed many hours golfing, both solo and with the good friends he made throughout his life. He took pride in maintaining a perfectly manicured lawn and loved to fix things up around the house. Scott enjoyed the simple things with his kids: movies and popcorn were frequent, as was reading Sports Illustrated (which usually lead to an afternoon nap), and a hearty meal that brought the family together at the dinner table. Peace and faith were found as a member of the Morrill Baptist Church, where Scott forged strong relationships that lasted until his final days. His faith comforted him greatly, and he passed knowing that those friendships would continue in Heaven.

Scott is survived and will be sorely missed by his daughter, Alexandra Dyke, of Portland; his son, Andrew Dyke, of Portland; his sister, Kathy Kobik, of Cape May, New Jersey; his nieces Kelsey Kobik, of Portland, and Maggie Kobik, of Dublin, Ireland; his Great Uncle Wallace (“Skip”) Dyke, of Farmington; and his beloved cat, Larri, of Portland. (And yes, his cat was indeed named after Larry Bird.) Scott and his family wish to send heartfelt thanks to the many health care workers and friends all over Maine, who helped care for him through thick and thin, and helped him maintain his humor and faith to his last moments here on Earth. Much gratitude goes to those at the Sussman House, in Rockport.

Unfortunately, due to current Covid restrictions, no memorial is planned at this time. Scott’s family is hopeful a celebration of life can be held in 2021. Memories and condolences may be shared at

New Preferred Dealer for Maine

Smitty Official’s Apparel is the new preferred dealer for Maine for Blow Your Whistles gear. Contact Steve Szazuri at [email protected] or 203.261.3128 or visit their website.

Read TJ Halliday's email about the Maine Officials Uniform & Jacket requirements for 2020-2021 Season here.

Important Dates
2019-20 Season

All Board #111 members must have an up to date Criminal History Records Check certificate on file with the Board Secretary in order to receive assignments. Please email the Secretary if you have any questions.

  • The IAABO Fellow Official Rating Sheet is available.
    Comment period is from December 3, 2019 to January 2, 2020. Email comments to the board Secretary. Download it here.

  • Clinic January 5, 2020 at 10 am
    Bennett Hall, University of Maine

  • Pink Whistle Week
    January 20-26, 2020

  • Spring Business Meeting - March 7, 2020, 10am
    Hampden Academy

Concerning Uniforms
from March 2019 Council Meeting
  • Stay with the existing IAABO jacket that has been used by members in the past.
  • Eliminate the use of the jacket completely, as a crew option for that game.
  • Crews decide, for regular season games, if they wear gray or black and white, with gray being the default color.


Please feel free to email any questions or concerns that might arise during the season to Nick Raymond.

Territory - Hancock, Knox, Penobscot, Piscataquis
and Waldo Counties

  • President  (2022)
    Nick Raymond
  • President-elect  (2020-2022)
    Bill Brooks

  • Past President (2022)
    Emil Genest
  • Vice President (2022)
    Brian Clark

  • Commissioner Rep (2022)
    David Ames

  • Secretary/Treasurer  (2022)
    John A. Doe
    PO Box 341
    East Millinocket, ME 04430
    Home: 746-3784
    Cell: 461-3784
  • Interpreter (2022)
    Wayne Prescott
    Phone: 341-1595

  • Assigner (2022)
    Fred Berry
    Phone: 266-1280

  • ME Basketball Commission
Other Maine Boards Northern, Central, Western and Downeast